Posted by Grumpy

View all posts by Grumpy


Posted in: What's New | No Comments | Posted on by Grumpy

The 12 tracks comprise six Steven Wilson originals and six covers and provide an essential insight into both Wilson’s musical taste and his evolution as a solo artist.

In March 2003 Steven Wilson released Cover Version, a 2 track CD single which was limited of 1,000 copies. Despite an illustrious career fronting a number of acts, including Porcupine Tree and No-Man, and recording under various guises (IEM, Bass Communion), this was the first piece to be released under his own name.

This was the first of a series of Cover Version releases and over the next few years came five further singles. The artists covered reflect a diverse range of music the influences him, taking tracks from Alanis Morissette, Abba, The Cure. Momus, Prince and Donovan.

Each of the singles was limited to 1,000 copies with the final release coming in a special box to house all six.  Each single was made up of one cover version along with one new, self-written composition.

The Cover Version album collects all of the material issued on the limited cover Version singles series that were released between 2003 and 2010.


Total: No Comments